TARS, chart a course for life, for loss, and love.

.Afire Love (2014)
And my father told me, son
It’s not his fault he doesn’t know your face
And you’re not the only one
Although my grandma used to say, he used to say:

Darling hold me in your arms the way you did last night
And we’ll lie inside, a little while he wrote
I could look into your eyes until the sun comes up
And we’re wrapped in light, in life, in love
Put your open lips on mine and slowly let them shut
For they’re designed to be together oh
With your body next to mine our hearts will beat as one
And we’re set alight, we’re afire love, love, love oh

And things were all good yesterday
Then the devil took your breath away
And now we’re left here in the pain
Black suit, black tie standin’ in the rain

.In sickness and loss, love.
One of those Saturday mornings when I’m led off-track (kinda) by a song, a Wikipedia article, and memories still.

The devil takes new breaths away each day. (Did I mention that I’m reading Revelation right now?)

And yet, love.

“Darling, hold me in your arms, the way you did … “

Hold me, look at me, be with me
Touch me, talk to me, for we’re designed to be

Some days, we draw comfort in numbers and coincidences. We draw spurious correlations, and conclusions, about a great many things in life. Why not then, today?

.Interstellar (2014)
Brand : Maybe we’ve spent too long trying to figure all this out with theory.
Cooper : You’re a scientist, Brand.

Brand : So listen to me, when I say that love is not something we invented. It’s observable, powerful. It has to mean something.
Cooper : Love has meaning, yes. Social utility, social bonding, child rearing…

Brand : We love people who have died. Where’s the social utility in that?
Cooper : None.

Brand : Maybe it means something more, something we can’t… yet, understand. Maybe it’s some evidence, some… artefact of a higher dimension that we can’t consciously perceive. I’m drawn across the universe to someone I haven’t seen in a decade… who I know is probably dead. Love is the one thing we’re capable of perceiving… that transcends dimensions of time and space. Maybe we should trust that, even if we can’t understand it yet. All right, Cooper… yes… the tiniest possibility of seeing Wolf again excites me. That doesn’t mean I’m wrong.

Cooper : Honestly, Amelia… it might. TARS, chart a course for Dr. Mann’s.

.TARS, chart a course for life,
For loss, and love.

Darling hold me in your arms the way you did last night
And we’ll lie inside, a little while he wrote
I could look into your eyes until the sun comes up
And we’re wrapped in light, in life, in love

Put your open lips on mine and slowly let them shut
For they’re designed to be together oh
With your body next to mine our hearts will beat as one
And we’re set alight, we’re afire love, love, love oh

.Supermarket Flowers (2017)
I fluffed the pillows, made the beds, stacked the chairs up
Folded your nightgowns neatly in a case
John said he’d drive, then put his hand on my cheek
And wiped a tear from the side of my face

I hope that I see the world as you did cause I know
A life with love is a life that’s been lived
So I’ll sing Hallelujah, you were an angel in the shape of my mum
When I fell down you’d be there holding me up
Spread your wings as you go, when God takes you back
He’ll say Hallelujah, you’re home

Source: https://www.capitalfm.com/artists/ed-sheeran/news/supermarket-flowers-mum-divide

In an interview with Zane Lowe, Ed explained, “That’s the most special song on the record for me. My grandmother was very ill during the time I was making the record and passed away at the end of me making the record, so we wrote this song as a tribute and just left it on.”

Ed revealed that he wasn’t initially going to include the song on ‘Divide’, but his grandfather encouraged him to do so. “My grandfather just turned to me [at the funeral], he was like you have to put that out, that has to go on the record. It’s such a good memory, that’s why it’s ended up on there.”

Leave a comment